Sunday Munching

imagesLIS1WXXQMost people will tell you that the weekend is their cheat time and all their healthy efforts go out the window. Well, I’m definitely NOT most people! I do splurge a little more on the weekends. On Friday night I indulged in some popcorn and dark chocolate and a little glass of wine (or two). But the remainder of the weekend I stayed true to my healthy lifestyle.

It is very important to satisfy your cravings and indulge every now and then. And by that, I mean once a week at most! I have become so used to eating healthy that even my cheat meals tend to be healthy most of the time. This morning I woke up craving pancakes and so I decided to make some. Not your regular old pancakes might I add. I made heavenly protein pancakes! I followed these with a day of healthy food and even managed to squeeze a workout in between assignments.

ImageBreakfast: Protein pancakes and green tea

Ingredients:

  • 3 egg whites
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup low fat cottage cheese
  • 1tsp vanilla essence
  • 1tsp baking powder

Method: mix all ingredients together and cook as you would any other pancakes. Serve with a side of low-fat plain yogurt and cooked apples.

Lunch: Tuna and chickpea salad (I didn’t manage to take a picture of it because I was too excited to eat!)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 can tuna
  • 1/5 can chickpeas
  • spinach
  • tomato
  • 1/4 baked sweet potato
  • cucumber
  • carrot
  • grated beetroot
  • balsamic dressing

Post workout snack: Peanut butter and banana rice cakeImage
Ingredients:

  • 1 brown rice cake
  • 1 tbsp. natural peanut butter
  • 1/2 banana
  • sprinkle of cinnamon

Dinner: carrot and ginger soup- I haven’t made or eaten this yet but I know for sure that I want it!

Ingredients:

  • 1 chopped onion
  • 1 tsp garlic
  • 1 tbsp. grated fresh ginger
  • 1/2 sweet potato
  • 5 big carrots
  • 1 tomato
  • 1 chicken stock cube
  • 1/2 vegetable stock cube
  • Salt for taste
  • Water (however much you think is necessary

Method: fry onion, garlic and ginger until browned. Add chopped carrot, potato and tomato followed by water. Add stock cubes and salt. Boil for 5 minutes and bring down to a simmer. Cook until vegetables are soft. Blend into a nice smooth soup. YUM!

So there you have it, my Sunday of healthy eating!

 

2 thoughts on “Sunday Munching

  1. Brilliant!
    Will you please consider being my personal chef? I pay top dollar, with better than average lodging.

Leave a comment