Back with Avengance

ImageI know I haven’t written a post in quite a while, but you have to understand that it has been a very hectic couple of days for me. So here is a run down of the excitement that has been going on in the life of Emma:

I left my beautiful home on the coast of Durban at 4 am to begin a 12 hour road trip with my brother and parents to my new home in the small, rural and slightly dusty town of Grahamstown. The reason you ask?  Well my brother and I are starting our 3 year Degrees at Rhodes University. Clap Clap, Yay Us! We are now officially University Students, living in a ‘digs’ and reveling in the most raucous week of the year: O-Week, or orientation week for the grammatically correct. 

The drive down was long and tirinImageg. 12 hours is not exactly leisurely, especially going up and down narrow, windy and pot hole filled roads. To make it a little more stressful, we had two cars in convoy jam-packed with furniture, food, bags and of course my trust squash rackets. 

Nevertheless, we made it to our new home away from home in good time and set up our new apartment. It’s such a great feeling knowing that you have your own space, even if you do have to share it with your brother.

On the drive down, I made doubly sure that I had some healthy snacks for the drive. I made myself some delicious Oat ‘muffins’ which basically consisted of oats, eggs, banana, and seeds all mushed together and baked in a muffin tin. For my snacks I had slices of pineapple and a boiled egg. I even made myself a roast chicken salad to eat for lunch. So overall, a healthy eating day despite the very sedentary level of activity.

Thank goodness I have managed to find the on campus gym, which is small and limited with regards to equipment choice, but it is a gym, it works, and I’m happy. I am even applying to be a personal trainer there which would be amazing. A little extra cash never hurt anyone!

ImageI only managed to get to the gym this morning, so for the last couple of days I have been working out at home. I brought my stability ball, roller, mat, jump rope and resistance band. So this was one of my workouts:

I did each circuit 3 times

Circuit 1:

  • 10 Burpess
  • 20 mountain climbers
  • 10 plie squats
  • 10 tricep dips on the couch

Circuit 2:

  • 10 Jump squats
  • 10 pistol squats on each leg
  • 20 bicycles
  • 10 close grip push ups

Circuit 3:

  • 30 second jump rope
  • 10 lunges on each leg
  • 15 v-ups
  • 10 tricep extensions using resistance band

Trust me, this workout gets your heart rate racing and your sweat glands in a frenzy! It didn’t take me longer then 20 minutes to do, so get moving!

Now, I’m not going to lie, this week there has and will continue to be a lot of drinking, socializing and partying. But I am going to try my best to balance all of that with staying partially healthy and keeping you all updated and entertained on my blog. 

Don’t give up on me, and especially don’t give up on yourself. Stay fit, healthy and focused.

Leave a comment