To LIVE for recipes

There is no doubt in my mind that I am a bit of a foodaholic. I absolutely LOOOOOVE food. I love buying it, i love making it, i love eating it and I definitely like being served it. Some people eat to live, but sometimes I am pretty sure I live to eat. But… I eat very clean and don’t have a slight craving for greasy fast food or cavity forming sweets. I love creating my own delicious food with natural ingredients that wont harm my body. Obviously I am not perfect and every now and then have a ‘normal’ pizza or have a nibble of a chocolate, but generally, that kind of food doesn’t really interest me. So here are a couple of my favorite go-to meals:

Protein Pancakes (seriously, i could eat these for breakfast, lunch and dinner… obsessed is an understatement)

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/4 scoop whey (optional)
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 1/2 apple (cooked in coconut oil)

Method:

Mix the eggs, banana, oats and whey together to form a batter. If the batter looks too runny, add some more oats until you get a good consistency.

Fry them in olive/coconut oil like regular pancakes.

Top with cooked apples (or other fruit of choice) and a tsp of honey or a tbsp Greek yogurt.

Tuna and Sweet Potato fish cakes

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 can tuna
  • 1 medium sweet potato (cooked and mashed)
  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1 egg
  • Seasoning of choice (herb spice, corriander, etc.)

Method:

Mich tuna, sweet potato mash, oats, egg and seasoning together.

Heat a pan with olive/coconut oil

Fry one heaped tablespoon of the batter like a pancake

Serve with Guacamole and a side salad

Wrap Pizza (my most favourite Friday night dinner)

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole wheat wrap
  • 1 sachet tomato paste
  • 1/4 chopped onion
  • 1 chopped tomato
  • 1/2 tsp garlic
  • 1/2 Grated white cheddar cheese
  • Toppings of choice–> I like grilled chicken, mushroom, bacon, spinach and avo (YUM)

Method:

Pre cook the wrap in an oven at about 250 degrees C. Cook until brown and hard.

Tomato sauce base: Fry the onions in a saucepan. Once caramelized, add garlic, tomato paste and chopped tomatoes. Add about 1/4 cup of water to reduce the thickness. Season with herb spice and cook until a nice paste is formed (not too thick)

Spread the paste on the pre cooked base, sprinkle a little cheese, add toppings and cook for an extra 10-15 minutes until toppings are cooked to your liking.

EAT WELL, LIFT HEAVY, LOVE LIFE

2 thoughts on “To LIVE for recipes

  1. Liked ur title, Live, Love, Lift!
    Tuna and Sweet Potato fish cakes is something I’m not gonna miss at all.

Leave a comment