Its the weekend Baby!

weekendAfter a long hard, and hopefully healthy week, we have finally reached that much anticipated Friday. The weekend is the time to de-stress, relax, spend time with your family and friends and have a little breather. The problem is that people tend to use the weekend as an excuse to veer off their healthy living habits. Of course there is nothing wrong with indulging in your favourite naughty food every now and then and having a rest day, but don’t go overboard.

I live according to the balance principle: everything in moderation. Don’t use the weekend as an excuse to ditch all attempts to stay healthy and eat junk food for the entire two days. Rather give yourself one meal a weekend where you can indulge. This way once Monday hits you don’t feel that pang of guilt.

In my opinion, if you truly are living a healthy lifestyle, you won’t change your habits once the weekend hits. Your schedule may be different and you’re probably treating yourself to a sundowner, but there shouldn’t be any dramatic change in the way you eat and live your life.healthy-weekend

When it comes to myself, I still eat the same on the weekends as I do during the week and I still exercise, weather it be recreational or heading to the gym, I like to have an active weekend. I do indulge in some social drinks, but I try to keep my weekends on par with my weekdays.

So, if you are planning on ordering takeaways for the next two nights and resorting to sandwiches and burgers, just stop and think about weather or not it is worth it. If you still feel the need to uplift your progress and lifestyle, then by all means, over indulge 🙂

What it really comes down to is binge eating. Weather you want to admit it or not, stuffing yourself on the weekend IS binge eating, and it is just not healthy.

binge

Love your body and say YES to a healthy, active weekend.

Leave a comment