Where do all the hours go???

Image

I know I know, its been a while since I have posted anything, but it seems as though there are not enough hours in the day anymore. Gone are the days when I could flop around on the couch watching hours of television then getting up whenever I want to go to the gym and then cruise to the kitchen for some food. I can no longer gallivant around town for as long as I please just browsing the shops and spontaneously going out for lunch because I have nothing else to do.

Nope.

I am now a busy, busy woman who actually needs to schedule time in-between lectures to go to the gym, make sure I get my work done on time and have enough energy to go to my designated sports. On top of all of that I need to have some sort of social life. So I do apologise for abandoning my blog for a couple of days, I have just been trying to find my bearings and get to grips with time management.

ImageIt is amazing how quickly time is flying by. Just yesterday it was the end of 2013 and the beginning of a whole new year. Now we are 3 months into that year! Unbelievable! My question to you is:

Where do you get all the energy to do so many things in one day?

I have been up since 6am, been to 2 lectures, a 2.5 hour practical, the gym and tried to feed myself in between those activities. It is now 5pm and I am absolutely exhausted! Maybe it is because I am not used to being constantly on the go, or perhaps I’m missing something in my body. I have never been much of a coffee drinker but I am now finding myself having at least one cup a day! So please, if you have any suggestions on how to make it through these busy days without passing out by 7pm I would love to hear them.

I am really proud of myself for fitting in exercise and actually managing to do it at a reasonable intensity. I have been going to the gym everyday during my lunch break which is perfect because it is very quiet. I also joined the netball, athletics AND squash club. Yes, a little ambitious, but I have BIG plans for the next three years.

So far I have been to one netball practice and a tournament on the weekend where I played a tiring four games. It was great to play again, but wow, I am definitely not ‘netball fit’. Tomorrow night I have squash and Thursday is athletics followed by netball. So there is plenty of physical activity amongst all the academic, I just need to figure out how to balance my energy levels so that I can perform all these activities without passing out.

Yesterday I trained legs and shoulders. After a weekend of netball this was not exactly the most pain free workout, but it was a damn good one (I can feel it in my buns!)

Perform each circuit 3 times:

Circuit 1:

  • 10 Smith machine wide stance squats (go as low as possible)
  • 10 standing shoulder press

Circuit 2:

  • 10 smith machine lunges (10 on each leg)
  • 10 lateral shoulder raises (10 on each side)

Circuit 3:

  • 10 leg push downs on the assisted pull up machine
  • 10 Front shoulder raises (10 on each side)

Circuit 4:

  • 10 lying down leg curls
  • 30 jump rope
  • 20 weighted inclined sit ups followed by 15 Russian twists

This workout focuses on your hamstrings,  glutes, and quadriceps as well as your Deltoids, trapezius, levator scapulae and rhomboids.Image

Image

Leave a comment