Delish, Nutrish and Healthy Foods

Healthy-Foods

There are millions of articles floating around out there about the good, the bad and the downright UGLY foods for you to eat. I am now going to throw my own little list out into cyber space for you to enjoy. Now, I absolutely LOVE food! I’m not one of those girls who avoid everything besides celery… no no no! I like a variety of healthy and delicious foods and I like A LOT of it!

Let me tell you a little secret… I didn’t always like healthy food. I was, in fact, a junk food junkie! Up until about the age of 17 (when I started actually gaining weight) I lived on Oreo’s, bread, coco pops, oven sausage rolls, pies, chips, sweets… basically any packaged food would be on my shopping list.

THEN, after years of abusing my body with this hideous food, I started getting a little bit chubby, eczema started flaring up and my stomach was not happy at all. So i figured out i needed to stop the dairy and wheat and all the other artificial crap… which I did! This literally transformed my life! Not only did my entire diet change, but I started going to the gym along with my school sports. The gym was NOT my friend in the beginning, but we grew to love but sometimes hate each other! I am now a self proclaimed health freak (with of course the occasional humane cheat days) AND a fitness junkie. I love it. I love eating clean food that makes you feel energized and fresh, rather then that junk which leaves you feeling greasy, sluggish and bloated.

So here is a list of my favorite healthy foods:

  1. Oatmeal: My #1 go to breakfast! Oats has an abundance of fiber, vitamin B, manganese (increases metabolism and bone density), zinc and magnesium. This is definitely one of the best breakfasts you can have and it keeps you full for hours!20140120_063031 (1)
  2. Bananas: Yes, they are a bit high in carbs, but there are so many more reasons to eat bananas. First of all, they are delicious! Secondly, thirdly, fourthly and fifthly,  bananas help you reach your weight-loss goals, keep your bowels healthy, provide nutrients that regulate heart rhythm and have vitamin compounds for eye health. So start monkeying around and eat a banana 😉
  3. Almonds: almonds are the most nutritious of all nuts! They fight cancer, reduce your risk of heart attack, lower cholesterol, contain a mass amount of protein in one tiny little shell, delivers your fair share of Vitamin E and fiber! Just go nuts and enjoy a couple of almonds.
  4. Apples: mmm I do love me some apples! These juicy and sweet fruit have so much to offer! Eating an apple a day not only keeps the doctor away, but also Alzheimer, Parkinson and all sorts of cancers. They can also help reduce cholesterol and diabetes, aid in weight management, detox your liver and boost your immune system!
  5. Seaweed: Yup, you read right, i said seaweed, or ‘nori’ as people from the sushi world refer to it as. Just one sheet of this sea veggie contains the same amount of omega 3 as three avocados! This can help prevent acne and dry skin and is an ant-inflammatory.  Wanna know the best news? Its only 4 calories a sheet! One sheet is packed with protein, B Vitamins, twice the vitamin C found in an orange and an amazing amount of iron! Not sure of how to eat this super food? My next post will give some simple recipes and suggestions.
  6. Tuna: canned or fresh, tuna is a delicious protein packed fish to have as a snack or make the hero of a dish. It is loaded with Omega 3, so it is great for cardiovascular and eye health. it can also improve cognitive performance and increases your mood. I have a can of tuna everyday and I never get bored of. Perhaps that’s because I am a little OCD though.
  7. Sweet Potatoes: These little root vegetables are gems! They are so easy to add to any meal and are seriously beneficial to your health and even aid in weight loss! They contain a boatload of vitmain B, C and D as well as Iron and magnesium. Put down those regular potatoes and pick something a little sweeter.
  8. Dark Chocolate: its true, a little bit of dark chocolate is actually good for you! It certainly helps kill those late night sweet cravings and is also good for your heart, brain and blood sugar. It is full of antioxidants and is high in potassium, copper, magnesium and iron. So come to the dark side, we have health benefits!
  9. Cottage cheese: this is my mayonnaise substitute and I gotta say, it is a million times better! Cottage cheese is packed with protein,  vitamin A and B, Calcium, and Phosphorus. use this in place of mayo and you will do your body and your taste buds a world of good.
  10. Chicken: smoked, grilled, stir fried, poached or boiled I just love chicken. The best thing about this small bird is that it is virtually fat free, low in calories and full of muscle building and energizing protein.  It is also a natural anti depressant, helps prevent bone loss, and is a metabolism booster!

Here are some other foods that I love and are full of nutrients:

  • Eggs
  • Broccoli
  • Brussels sprouts
  • pumpkin seeds
  • sunflower seeds
  • goji berries
  • fish
  • ostrich steak
  • Peanut butter

Are there any healthy foods that you just absolutely love?? Or are there some super foods out there that you have heard about but have no idea what to do with? Let me know and I’ll give you some great and easy meal ideas!

Stay Fit and Healthy!

Leave a comment