My new favourite thing

Beautiful Durban beach front
Beautiful Durban beach front

So recently I started going body boarding with my brother, and damn, is it a serious workout! You wouldn’t think so considering you really just paddle yourself out to the back line, catch a wave and do it all over again… But my word, getting out there is quite a mission! Saying that, I absolutely love it!

First of all, I love being in the ocean. It’s so fresh and lovely… Just floating around, diving under the waves and making sure you don’t get sucked out to Australia. It really is a lot of fun though.

Very excited to show off my body boarding skills
Very excited to show off my body boarding skills

Secondly, catching a wave makes you feel like you are flying across the ocean. Once you get that perfect wave, nothing can stop you… Besides being dumped and being discarded as rubbish. That dosnt happen too often though.

Thirdly, it is a really really fun and exciting workout! I mean who wouldn’t want that? A workout and fun all wrapped in one?

Ok ok I do enjoy working out at the gym, but I wouldn’t exactly classify it as ‘fun’. It’s great and it makes me feel fantastic but I recon the only time I smile while doing a bicep curl is if someone is making those grunting noises while they lift a weight equivalent to a baby elephant.

So going body boarding is a great way to spice up my exercise regime while working on my tan at the same time!

Moral of the story: find a physical activity that you love doing and that adds fun and spice to your life. It could be anything! Cycling, running, horse riding, skiing, wrestling, rock climbing… Anything!

Leave a comment